My Favourite Songs of 2016

Just saying this now but if any of these songs make it to my favourite songs for 2017, that song is a freaking gem

1.Sunset Lover by Petit Biscuit

This song has very little words but I just love the feel of this song. It makes you feel like you’re in a car with the windows down but you’re cruising down slowly as the sun just sets behind you and it turns from these benevolent shades of purple to a deep blue.

Thats how this song makes me feel

giphy (29).gif

2. Headlines by Drake

It’s Drake ffs. I mean don’t get me wrong I loved his hits like Fake Love and Hotline bling, infact I was obsessed. Here’s the thing though, being overplayed on the radios didn’t really help that situation.

Headlines is a song that I listen to whenever I need to get pumped up and I just really love singing along to this one

Favourite line :

I know I exaggerated things, now I got it like that

Tuck my napkin in my shirt, ‘cause I’m just mobbin’ like that

giphy (30).gif

 

3. Collar Full by Panic At The Disco

I freaking love P!ATD. Its indescribable. Not only is Brendon Urie a perfect human being, he is an amazing singer live or not.

I love every single one of their songs but Collar Full was one that I listened to a heck lot this year. I loved the very nostalgic vibes they gave me (maybe it’s just me) but definitely check this one out.

My favourite part & lyrics of the song :

“‘Cause there’s always time for second guesses I don’t wanna know
If you’re gonna be the death of me, that’s how I wanna go”giphy (31).gif

 

4. 90210 by Blackbear

Here’s the thing right. I have a thing for songs like this. They make you feel like you’ve been sucked into the world of whoever it is that the song is talking about. It makes you feel that maybe (even though it is nowhere as relevant to you) the song is referring to you. This song is that one song that makes you smile like a complete idiot when it comes on your shuffle and you want to just replay it over and over again without getting tired.

At least for me because alas, music is extremely subjective.

I absolutely adore Blackbear, I have memorised all his songs line by line.

Blackbear1.jpg

Favourite line :

“In all designer, to remind ya,
You can’t buy her, just her clothes,”

5.Youth by Daughter

This song just hits you in the feels and makes you feel like you’re in a dystopian world. Or maybe that’s because I was reading a dystopian novel when I listened to this song. But it is a song that I love listening to when I’m down. I love this one.

Favourite lines: This song is written beautifully thus I have plenty of favourite lines

“And if you’re still bleeding, you’re the lucky ones.
‘Cause most of our feelings, they are dead and they are gone.”

“Setting fire to our insides for fun,
To distract our hearts from ever missing them.”

giphy.gif

6. Heaven by Amber Run

This song gives me this nostalgic yet rebellious feeling as if I’m running away to an unknown place and I love that.

giphy (3).gif

 

ARTIST OF THE YEAR

(DRUMROLL PLEASE)

.

.

.giphy (1).gif

source.gif

(also they are amazing live)

YES THE 1975. Here’s the thing okay, they are pure bliss. Matt Healy has an exceptional voice that can only be this perfect due to experience and it is. Matt writes on his experiences and feelings and that’s why his songs are so damn raw.

Also our drummer, guitarist and bass guitarist don’t get enough credit- George, Adam and Ross in that order. They are freaking amazing I mean they create amazing music and tunes and I just love it.

The reason why I realised this band is my favourite for this year (and probably for many more) is because I couldn’t pick a single song to exemplify the beauty that this band is, I just couldn’t. So as much as I listen to all of their songs, old or new, I narrowed it down to my most played.

1.She’s American

Oh goddamn this song is beautiful.

Favourite line:

“I said, “Don’t fall in love with the moment”
She said I’ve got a lot to learn”

2.Robbers

You need to listen to this song to realise how raw and emotional this song is. It’s so genuine and it was sang with a mouth that meant every single one of his lyrics and that’s why this song was drop dead perfect.

Favourite line: “You’ve got a pretty kind of dirty face”

source (1).gif

3. Somebody Else

This song hits you in a spiritual level.

Favourite line: “I don’t want your body
But I hate to think about you with somebody else”

giphy-2

4. fallingforyou

oh I just really love this song.

Favourite line: “Don’t you see me? I think I’m falling, I’m falling for you”

 

Honourable mentions (songs I liked or loved for like a few weeks)

  1. Call on me by Starley (Ryan Riback Remix)
  2. Blood Sweat and Tears by BTS
  3. Alone by Marshmello
  4. The Breakup Songs from “Ae Dil Hai Muskhil” (this is a hindi song but I love love love this)
  5. Say You Won’t Let Go by James Arthur
  6. Valley Girls by Blackbear
  7. Fantasy (Felix Jaehn Remix)
  8. Headlights by Robin Schulz and Ilsey
  9. Company by Justin Bieber
  10. How to Save a Life by The Fray (I feel like this song will always be a favourite)

 

I know most of these songs aren’t like upbeat party songs (some are) but that’s the thing-they can be songs you jam to but not songs you connect with most of the time.

Leave a Reply

