Review Of Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

 

“I don’t think you have to do something so big to be brave. And it’s the little things that are harder anyway.”

In a well-ordered universe, everyone should freaking read this book

This is just one of those books that make you feel all warm and fuzzy inside. You’ll practically finish this book with a huge smile on your face and it just makes your day so much better. This kind of (towards the start at least) gave me a Paper Towns kind of vibe.

giphy-1

There’s Sloanne, who isn’t physically in any chapter of the book except maybe flashbacks or the end yet she in a huge part of this book. Being the main character, Emily’s, best friend, she strangely disappears one day without a trace and leaves nothing but a list of things for Emily to do by the end of the summer. The reason why Sloanne is practically the main character in this book is because Emily can’t do anything but obsess over her, granted as Sloanne is her one and only best friend. Through flashbacks, it is made clear how close the 2 friends were and the dynamics of their f/s.

I didn’t really fancy Sloanne sadly. Firstly, how can you just leave your best friend and not give her a single reason and instead tell her to go apple-picking or skinny dipping? Secondly, Sloanne was obsessed with her boyfriend, most of the time ignoring Emily for him. *spoiler* Her boyfriend ended up cheating on her and blaming Emily for it and she trusted Emily without a doubt, so that kind of redeemed her for me and showed the trust their friendship involved.

giphy-2

Emily was a typical shy girl with an outgoing friend whom she was always overshadowed by. The cliche and normal girls you find in any book really. However what made this book stand out was her transformation by the end of the book. From being a girl who always had to seek validation from her best friend, she learnt to be independent and courageous and I loved it.

giphy-3

I felt like a huge part of this book was amazing because of Frank porter.  Like omg Frank Porter was the most amazing freaking guy ever. Honestly, he is the epitome of any guy I’ve ever wanted. Smart, witty, humorous, sensible, genuine and extremely sweet he was amazing in the book though I couldn’t imagine his character AT ALL. Frank and Emily too started off as friends which I liked (not the cliche omg enemies kind of thing) and it wasn’t insta-love (hugest pet peeve ugh). He was also really supportive and helped to push Emily out of her comfort zone to finish the things on her list which led to them having spent a lot of time together.

me @ frank basically

He’s so freaking sweet like I can’t event??

“He looked right at me as he gave me a half smile. “You’re the brightest thing in the room”, he said. He lifted his hand from my waist, and slowly, carefully brushed a stray lock of hair from my cheek. “You shine”.

My breath caught in my throat. People said those kinds of things about Sloane-not about me.

“What?” Frank asked, his eyes on mine.

“Just…” I took a shaky breath. “Nobody’s ever said something like that to me.”

“Then they don’t see what I see,” he said.”

I loved Collins too, I loved the humour he brought in. And I felt like the friendship factor in this book was so heart-warming especially towards the end.

“Real friends are the ones you can count on no matter what.
The ones who go into the forest to find you and bring you home.
And real friends never have to tell you that they’re your friends.”

What I loved the MOST about this book though was the idea of the list. You know how people are scared to take risks because they don’t know what it’ll bring them. The list brought forward the idea of taking chances and not hesitating, basically living in the moment. I felt that this book showed that whatever comes out of a risk, be it good or bad, ultimately benefits us in the long term one way or another. And I loved that message YAS.

May I add this book has so many playlists and I listened to them while reading the book it was superb x Also, Frank had a playlist where the first letter of every song would spell out Emily’s name like guys, just.how.cute.is.that????

“This felt like the way you get nervous right before something exciting happens-the moment when you’re balanced on the top of the roller coaster, the hush before the surprise party, the second after the diving board but before the water, when you can close your eyes and imagine, for just a second, that you’re flying. The feeling that good things were coming, almost here, any moment now.”

Morgan Matson is truly the queen of contemporary. I can’t wait to read Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour!!

Rating 8.5/10

Y’all can find me on Goodreads to get updated on what I read and recommend me book so I can review them 🙂

https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/32201823-saiyara

Leave a Reply

